book tour

Privilege Book Tour: Playlist and Aesthetic

First of all, thank you Shealea and Caffeine Book Tours for giving me the opportunity to be a tour stop for this book! Here is the main page for the book tour if you’d like to check out the other tour stops.

Title: Privilege
Author: Bharat Krishnan
Summary: In this epic saga about privilege and power, Rakshan Baliga will have to choose between the American Dream…and his own.
New York’s drug problem is Rakshan’s solution. Getting his hands on a super drug called WP could earn him glory, power, and a chance to win back his ex. But stealing it from the Top 1% is costly, and if Rakshan isn’t careful he’ll pay with his life.
Discover how Rakshan’s journey sets off a chain of events that changes his city, his country…and the world. This ensemble political thriller is perfect for fans of Ocean’s 11 and House of Cards.

Book links: | Amazon | Goodreads |

For my tour stop, I decided to create a playlist of songs mostly by Desi artists that relate to the book thematically (classism/power, friendship, drugs, Desi-American immigrant struggles, and revenge) or just fun songs that I think fit specific scenes in the book (Breakup song 😂).

I also made a mood board to capture the vibes of this book. The book is pretty dark and intense, and I decided to stick with the book cover’s black, red, and white color scheme. The book is fast paced and full of fight scenes. It also deals with oppression, racism, and fear on a personal level as well as on a societal level. And of course, the book is about a white powder drug, so I had to feature that front and center (the stock photo is actually sugar though HAHA). I’ve also got my fan cast of Sadiya as Radhika Apte in my collage, she was definitely the best character in the book.

Image credits:
Adobe Spark stock photos (top row: all; bottom row: left corner and right corner)
Stock photo from Getty images (second row, left)
Screen capture from the film Petta (second row, right)
Interview photo from Magzter (bottom row, center)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s